top of page

Make Baseball Fun Again

For over a century baseball was considered the thing to do in the neighborhood. Kids would stay outside all day and play with whatever they could find. I remember back when I was a kid we would use a broom handle for the bat and anything round for the ball. Playing baseball everyday was the highlight of our entire day, we couldn't

wait to get off the bus from school and start playing.

Then somewhere as you get older the transition from fun to work starts to begin. Your teams begin to become more elite, some of the buddies you have played baseball your whole life with are no longer by your side. Then, if you are good enough, you start traveling around the country in the summer with your travel team trying to be seen by pro scouts and college coaches. Which sounds like fun but at 15 and 16 years old traveling the country by your self can be a scary thing.

Then you have to decide on what college to play at, which is incredibly tough to do because you have to tell grown men that you do not want to play at their school. Finally, the months leading to the draft. I remember before the draft my senior year of high school I was running around like a chicken with my head cut off talking to scouts, doing eye exams, meeting with agents, and getting medical tests.

Once I got drafted then i had to make the decision, do I go play professional baseball at 18? Or do I go to college, have fun, and try and get drafted again later on. I chose to go to college, where for four years I woke up at 5am to run and get the crap beat out of me in sprints, but it was something I would never regret, but it also made me wonder, when did baseball become a job and why cant we make baseball fun again.


RECENT POST
bottom of page